San Francisco Bay Area

Nine counties in 5 subregions (101 municipalities):

  • San Francisco
  • Peninsula: San Mateo
  • South bay: Santa Clara
  • East Bay: Alameda, Contra Costa
  • North Bay: Marin, Napa, Solano, Sonoma

Check out San Francisco page for more details about the city and Napa and Sonoma page for the wine country. This page is more about the other areas.

Universities: Stanford University and the University of California, Berkeley


  • Oakland Museum of California

Where to paddle

  • moss landing
  • monterry
  • petaluma river
  • oakland
  • redwood city
  • forster city

Tomales Bay Kayak Camping

  • Pick up permit from Bear Valley Visitor Center
  • Rent the kayak(or bring your own to the east side)
  • Kayak for 1+hr to the camp site
  • Kayak back the second day, oyster farm on the way back


  • Bioluminescence
  • Full Moon
  • Sunset


Soquel Demonstration State Forest


  • The cypress "tree tunnel", Point Reyes National Seashore
  • Alamere Falls, Point Reyes National Seashore
  • Bowling Ball Beach, Point Arena
  • The Glory Hole, Lake Berryessa
  • Montalvo Arts Center, 15400 Montalvo Rd, Saratoga, CA 95071
  • Filoli
  • Point Reyes: Whale watching
  • Half Moon Bay